top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBecky Bishop

July 2020 - Returning to (the New) Normal...




July has just passed in a blur! We've spent the month preparing for our first two events of the season (pretty weird to be saying that in July!), but I couldn't wait for either. Belle was feeling fantastic in the run up to Barbury on the 12th, and I was so excited to get back out eventing after such a long time. On the flat, I felt so much more confident riding Belle, and that we were producing some really lovely work. A few days before the event, we had a jump in the school with Harry doing an exercise that we had done before and that Belle had really struggled with previously. This time around, although she still found it difficult, she jumped it so much more easily, and the difference was amazing. It filled me with confidence to feel how much stronger she felt it such a short space of time.



I was super pleased with Belle at Barbury (see my event report for a full update), and then I couldn't wait for Bicton two weeks later. We quietly worked on a couple of improvements over the time between, and had a great dressage session the day before. Again, to see a more in depth description of how our day went, see my separate event report, but we had the most amazing day with Belle jumping a foot perfect double clear. It was such a great way to end our time together, as she was due to go back home the next day. It was very sad to see her go, but I had known all along that she was never going to be a long term a horse so not unexpected.


Belle has taught me so much over the last couple of months, and I cannot thank the Stratton's enough for trusting me with her whilst Meg was recovering from her injury. It's been amazing riding a much larger horse, and learning how to do so properly - I really feel like my riding has come on a lot in the few months I have had her, and very grateful to Harry for all his training during our time together. I'm very excited about the future now, I don't know what I'm going to do next, but I can't wait to see what the next couple of weeks and months will bring!






37 views0 comments
bottom of page