top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBecky Bishop

Event Report: Bicton BE100 Open - 25.07.20



Another great day with Belle, this time in the Open section of the BE100 at Bicton Arena.

I couldn't wait to get back out on her (especially XC after our run at Barbury), although it was slightly bittersweet as it was going to be my last run on her.


Not quite as nice weather this time, but still couldn't complain - at least the intermittent rain wasn't a heavy downpour!


I was delighted with how Belle warmed up for the dressage, she was super off my leg and engaged and really stepping through from behind straight away. I think I gave myself slightly too much time to warm up though, as I then had a little while to wait around, and I didn't want to keep working her and tire her out too much. Unfortunately, this then meant she dropped off my leg a little before we went in. Trotting around the arena, she felt much better again, and I actually went up the center line with some sort of smile rather than my usual grimace! I was very pleased with the first part of our test, right up until we did a near perfect transition to walk and heard the car horn blare; I'd only gone and forgotten my 15 metre circle on that rein! Annoyingly, this then put both Belle and I off slightly and I allowed her to drop of my leg again as we continued, meaning the rest of our test lacked a bit of impulsion. Over all it was a very sweet test, and an improvement (in my mind) from Barbury. We ended up with a score of 32, so not too shabby, but I was slightly disappointed as I had felt that Belle deserved a slightly lower score, even with my mistake.


Onto the SJ, which this time was on a surface. I felt that she was jumping really well so didn't go crazy in the warm up, just popping each fence a couple of times before we went in. I was determined to just ride positively to each fence to try and avoid the same mistake I made at Bicton, and my forward thinking definitely worked as we came out with a super clear round! She felt fantastic around the whole course, and I was so pleased with how we both jumped.


I'd walked the XC before my Dressage, and although I wasn't overly worried about anything, I was very aware that there were a lot more combinations than at Barbury and that it was a much more testing course. There was a two stride double of skinny brushes that I was slightly concerned I may not get the right line too, but after walking it i felt much more confident. I also knew that I wouldn't be able to hang around too much if I wanted to make the time after just scraping in at Barbury, but I was more worried about

getting around first! Belle was great in the warm up, listening to everything I said - waiting for an extra stride and going on a longer one when I asked. She got a little jittery in the start box and absolutely rocketed out, meaning I got slightly left behind at the first fence, but then quickly settled into a great rhythm over fences 2 and 3. Our round felt incredible, and we flew around coming home clear and comfortably inside the time by about 10 seconds! I was actually extremely proud of how I rode the course, and everything just felt effortless from Belle, including the skinny double through which we nailed a fantastic forward two strides.


A really great day, finishing on our dressage score and 15th in our section of about 40 competitors. My mistake in the dressage was (frustratingly) very costly, and meant we missed out on 6th place, but still a very respectable score to finish on. I couldn't have faulted Belle's jumping all day, she absolutely jumped her socks off, and I was so over the moon with her - such a fantastic way to finish our time together! It was wonderful to see her owner Meg Stratton who came to watch us run, and best of luck to her and Belle for the rest of the season!





I must also say the biggest thank you to Flora Harris and her wonderful team for taking Belle and I all the way and back to Bicton after a schedule change meant Harry was unable too. I cannot say how grateful I am to them for doing this, and for being so kind and helpful all day!



54 views0 comments
bottom of page